Qualifications framework

Like the European Qualifications Framework (EQF), the Lithuanian Qualifications Framework (LTQF) has 8 qualification levels. Levels of qualifications are arranged hierarchically, in accordance with the criteria defining qualifications’ levels: complexity, autonomy and a range of activities which a person with certain qualifications can be expected to carry out. The LTQF includes qualifications for working and learning, the main purpose of which is to prepare a person for further learning. Such qualifications are acquired upon completion of general lower or upper secondary education programmes.

VET qualifications are attributed to the first five levels of the LTQF in the Lithuanian qualifications system. Qualifications at levels 1-4 are acquired by completing vocational education and/or general education programmes, whereas qualifications at level 5 are acquired by completing training programmes intended for people with a vocational qualification and professional experience, higher education programmes not leading to a degree, and/or through professional experience and independent study.

Level 6 qualifications are acquired by completing cycle one of university or college studies and, in cases and according to the procedure specified in legislation, by completing study or requalification programmes not leading to a degree.

Level 7 qualifications are acquired by completing cycle two of university studies or integrated study programmes, in cases and according to the procedure specified in legislation, by completing study or requalification programmes not leading to a degree.

Level 8 qualifications are acquired by completing doctoral studies. In addition, qualifications at all levels may be acquired by gaining professional experience or by independent study.

Qualifications awarded at present in the LTQF:

LTQF Qualifications
8 Doctoral diploma
7 Master diploma
Certificate of residency
6 Bachelor diploma
Professional bachelor diploma
5 Study certificate
VET diploma*
4 VET diploma
Matura diploma**
(on completion of the upper-secondary education programme
and passing matura examinations)
3 VET diploma

Lower-secondary education certificate**
(completion of lower-secondary education programme and testing learning outcomes) (grades 5 to 10)

2 VET diploma
1 VET diploma

* Presently only a VET qualification is awarded at NQF level 5. Short cycle study programmes leading to a study certificate were legitimated in 2018. Their introduction is at a preparatory stage.

** The legislation defining provisions for general education curricula stipulates that learning outcomes of lower secondary education programmes are referenced with a third NQF level, whereas learning outcomes of upper-secondary education programmes are referenced with a fourth NQF level.

Source: The Qualifications and VET Development Centre (QVETDC), 2019

Useful information:

Description of Lithuanian qualifications framework. Decree of Government of Republic of Lithuania, 2010

Referencing the Lithuanian Qualifications Framework to the EQF and the QF-EHEA. National report

Learning Opportunities and Qualifications in Europe – European Commission website